Control What Helpers Can Do

Control what Helpers can View & Do
The SETTINGS>Global Helper Permissions page controls what helpers can see and do at WhenToHelp when they sign in using their individual helper username and password.

When helpers sign in, they see a different interface and can only view Published schedules. To see an example of the HelperView, you can sign in live to see a sample organization helper account ( which has most helper permissions and features turned on.

After publishing your first schedule, you also can sign in as a helper in your account (in "read only" mode) to see exactly what your helpers will see when they sign in.

Standard things helpers can do when they sign in:

  • View published schedules and schedule notes
  • Export to Google Calendar which can also be used with Outlook on their computer or phone
  • Make changes to their own contact information 
  • Set up their email and text message addresses, and which events trigger notifications to them and which address, if any, can be used as a "reply to" address when messages are forwarded to coordinators or other helpers
  • Change their username and password 
  • Set whether other helpers can view their phone number and email 
  • View the Homepage Notice to helpers
  • View your Organization Bulletin Board
  • Message coordinators and other helpers

If you allow it, Helpers also can:

  • Set their own prefer and dislike help time preferences
  • Set their own CANNOT HELP time preferences
  • Set whether they prefer or dislike helping for each Position (Job or Location)
  • Request time off ("At Will" or "With Coordinator Approval")
  • See shift colors that coordinator adds
  • See Categories in the shifts, if any have been used
  • See the helper comments entered by coordinator
  • View "Everyone's Schedule" - daily, weekly, chart, in-out & monthly views (they will see the same layout that is used in your corresponding main coordinator view using the Change Layout links)
  • See unassigned shifts on Everyone's Schedule
  • View a staff list - (coordinator controls what displays)
  • See other helpers' availability and help time preferences for their shift times 
  • View and post shifts to the Tradeboard
  • Trade shifts with other helpers ("At Will" or "With Coordinator Approval")
  • Drop shifts (if another helper agrees to pick up) ("At Will" or "With Coordinator Approval")
  • Unassign themselves from shifts (drop a shift)
  • Edit shift details or just the description
  • Add new shifts for themselves
  • Pick up unassigned (open) shifts on the Tradeboard ("At Will" or "With Coordinator Approval")
  • See when and where other helpers will be helping on any day in a published week
  • Send message to multiple recipients

Use your SETTINGS>Global Helper Permissions page to set what Helpers are allowed to see and do when they sign in.

Settings Helper Permissions

Controlling the helper display of Everyone's Schedule

  • If you allow helpers to see Everyone's Schedule, you also can control how each of those views appear using your own "Change Layout" link on the account's main coordinator corresponding Schedule View, i.e. Helpers will see the same layout that the main coordinator sees.
Controlling Helper's display on everyone's schedule view

If you upload an organization logo from your SETTINGS>Info page, the helpers will see your organization logo on all of their pages and printouts.